Prof. Dr. Zühtü ARSLAN / President


Prof. Dr. Zühtü Arslan was born in Sorgun district of Yozgat province on 1 January 1964. He completed his primary and secondary education in Sorgun district. He graduated from the Public Administration Department of Ankara University Faculty of Political Sciences in 1987. He completed his master’s degree on “Human Rights and Civil Freedoms” and Ph. D. degree on constitutional law at Leicester University (UK). He became an associate professor in 2002 and professor of constitutional law in 2007.

He worked at the European Court of Human Rights for a period of time in 2001. Besides, he also served as a member to the Plenary of the Press Advertisement Institution. He taught lectures on “Constitutional Law”, “Human Rights” and “Theories of State” at graduate and post-graduate levels at the Police Academy of Turkey, where he was apponted as the President of the Academy in 2009. He also taught “Turkish Public Law” at Bilkent University between 2000-2003 and “Law and Politics” at Başkent University between 2003-2009.

He has three books published: Theory of Constitution, Freedom of Religion in The European Convention on Human Rights and History of Turkish Parliament between 1957-1960 (3 Volumes). He is also a joint-author to the book titled Constitutional Law of Turkey and he prepared a collected work titled Freedom of Expression in the Judgments of the US Supreme Court. He wrote articles and papers on constitutional law, human rights, relations of freedom-security and the law of political parties in English and Turkish languages.

Prof. Dr. Arslan was appointed as the Member Judge of the Constitutional Court by the President of the Republic on 17 April 2012 from among three candidates proposed by the Council of Higher Education.

He was elected as the President of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Turkey on 10.02.2015.

On 25.01.2019, he was re-elected as President of the Constitutional Court by the Plenary of the Constitutional Court.

He is married with four children.

The Constitutional Court of the Republic of Turkey © 2015
Number of Visitors: